My Cup of Cake

I never really paid attention to the dozens of online shop cupcakes in my newsfeed because of a horrible experience a couple of years ago. Bought a hundred cupcakes to give away to some business partners and their cupcakes tasted awful (lasang galing panaderya sa kanto) and the frosting looked like poop. Ang layo sa itsura sa website nila. It was traumatizing (and humiliating) that I just went back to buying baked goodies from the mall.

But one time I was chatting with my friend/birthdaymate Ava and she mentioned CALAMANSI CUPCAKES. I had to stop and check where and how I can get some. I hesitated when I found out that we’re talking about homemade goods for sale but I couldn’t resist the curious temptation of it. Plus, closest friends know how much I love Real Coffee calamansi muffins! Alam mo na, magpinsan lang ang muffins at cupcakes! :)

image

My Cup of Cake is relatively new. They just opened their Facebook page and Instagram account. They offer popular flavors like red velvet and chocolate. I was more interested with the Pinoy flavors though. I couldn’t decide if I should stick to the kinds that I’ll most likely favor or try new ones… so I got both.

Based on my friend Ava’s reco, I ordered a dozen each of Calamansi, Tablea, Salted Caramel, and Red Velvet. They’re mini cupcakes, just in case you’re thinking I am a cupcake monster. :p

image

Aina of My Cup of Cake sent me a photo of the freshly made cupcakes. If I’m gonna judge them only for beauty (or cuteness), Red Velvet is the winner. Salted Caramel is the 1st runner-up.

I met up with Aina the following day. Good thing her office is near my office. We eyeballed (haha ano ‘to, mIRC?) at Makati Ave cor. Dela Costa. I got the 48 pieces of mini cupcakes and I was pleased to see they’re not only cute in photos. Visually appealing rin sila in person… err… face to face… Errr? :p

image

I started, of course, with the Calamansi Cupcake. Mmmmmm! Sarap! The cake was moist, not too dense, and perfectly tangy. They call the frosting Signature Cream Cheese. I’d call it Special Cream Cheese. It made the already delicious cupcake definitely more delectable. Have this if you miss the muffins from Boracay and you want a cuter, less zesty, sweeter version.

The Tablea Cupcake was not as dense as I would have wanted but I didn’t mind much because its flavor was rich, bold, decadent and wonderful. This one’s perfect with coffee.

image

The Salted Caramel was my least favorite. It wasn’t as salty, not as caramel-y as I wanted. But then again, I want my caramel hardcore. Willing to try this again though because I lovelovelove caramel. Ano kaya kapag may caramel and calamansi cupcake, noh? Oh my. OH MY.

The best was the Red Velvet Cupcake. It’s incredibly moist and light. The cream cheese frosting was creamy and velvety. It’s even better than some mall-bought ones. I’m happy that My Cup of Cake made me believe in getting great quality food from online shops again!

image

I shared the goodies with my workmates (Yes, hindi ako mag-isa ang umubos!!!) and their favorites? The Red Velvet and the Calamansi cupcakes. Soon we’re getting more of ’em nomnoms and trying out the other flavors like Banana Chocolate, Chocnut, and Neapolitan.

The alcoholic drinking enthusiast in me is also excited about the cupcakes from the Cuppy Hour line. You know, like happy hour but in cuter form! Spiked cupcakes!!! How awesome is that?! :D This just goes to show that My Cup of Cake is my cup of tea!

image

You can check out My Cup of Cake here–
Facebook: http://m.facebook.com/mycupofcake.ph
Instagram: mycupofcake

// listening to Avicci – Wake Me Up

3 thoughts on “My Cup of Cake

  1. Me too. I am hesitant buying from online shops unless recommended by a lot of people already.

    Those cupcakes look good especially the calamansi! Do they also sell regular size ones or just minis?

Leave a Reply

