Tokyo Trip – Tsukiji Fish Market

The fish auction is probably one of the most popular things to experience in Tsukiji, but since it happens at 5am and only a hundred people can watch it, ‘wag na! Okay na ako na mag-lunch doon! We had some trouble finding the market, but then we saw this building with a giant fish design. So this must be the place. :p

wpid-dsc_3281.jpg

I was in awe seeing a market that’s soooooo clean.

wpid-dsc_3283.jpg

Tsukiji may be famous for fish, but it didn’t smell like fish at all!

wpid-dsc_3291.jpg

The only time I got to smell the fish was when I was already standing right in front of it. Look at those fresh salmon…

wpid-dsc_3300.jpg

There’s some grilled fish they sell in the streets. That one is tuna steak, not stake. :p Didn’t get to take a photo of the grilled scallops, that was what I wanted to try, but there were too many customers and I was too hungry to wait.

wpid-dsc_3323.jpg

Besides fish, you can also buy veggies, fruits and other stuff here.

wpid-dsc_3296.jpg

These must be the plumpest, most gorgeous grapes I’ve ever seen. Parang hindi totoo!

wpid-dsc_3297.jpg

All the veggies look so pretty. I can eat them raw on the spot.

wpid-dsc_3298.jpg

There were also juices, condiments and kitchen utensils being sold.

wpid-dsc_3285.jpg

This is the best place where you can get lovely and inexpensive pasalubong like chopsticks,

wpid-dsc_3327.jpg

coasters, wooden spoon and forks, and other kitchen must-haves.

wpid-dsc_3328.jpg

It’s tough to choose where to eat because the streets are lined with so many little restos serving the freshest sushi and sashimi.

wpid-dsc_3321.jpg

We chose to eat at Marukita because one of their staff told us, “Masarap dito!” We think he’s memorized that line in different languages for all tourists that would pass by. Effective!

wpid-dsc_3317.jpg

The ground floor was packed so we had to go up the second level. They served us free tea and miso soup first.

wpid-dsc_3311.jpg

Miko had the Salmon Roe Bowl. It has salmon sashimi, salmon roe, egg, ginger on top of rice. It’s 1,500 JPY, more or less 600 Php.

wpid-dsc_3312.jpg

Miko, who’s very picky with his salmon, was very pleased with his meal. The sashimi was tender, fatty, and delicious. The roe was bursting with salty rich goodness.

wpid-dsc_3315.jpg

I had the Conger Eel Bowl. *sigh* I thought what I had was unagi, as it looked the same and tasted the same, but no!!! Unagi is freshwater eel, while conger eel is saltwater eel and it’s called anago in Japanese. :(

wpid-dsc_3306.jpg

But it’s ok, at least now I know the difference and I can say I like both unagi and anago! Aaaand it’s still the best dish I had in Japan. It’s 2300JPY so that’s around 800Php. That’s already cheap considering the huge pieces they served. And mahal naman talaga dito ‘yan sa Pinas!

wpid-dsc_3313.jpg

After that excellent lunch, we walked around looking for dessert. Before finding where the ice cream stand was, we saw a store selling sweet egg creations. The Japanese really love their eggs, don’t they? :p There were a lot of people buying from this store, but Miko wanted some matcha and I wanted something cold.

wpid-dsc_3326.jpg

I was the one who ended up getting the matcha ice cream, because Miko saw that there’s a flavor na kapangalan niya! (His last name is Alfonso, hehehe.) So he had the Alphonso Mango.

wpid-dsc_3331.jpg

It’s the perfect dessert after our seafood meal, but we just have to say that we still love the cheese and avocado ice cream in UP Diliman more. Yung bang sa katabi ng isawan ni Mang Larry. :p

wpid-dsc_3334.jpg

Our last stop was the stunning Hongwanji Temple. It’s based on Indian architecture and caters to Shin Buddhism, the most widely practiced Buddhism in Japan.

wpid-fb_img_1441548671698.jpg

Thank you Tsukiji for that unforgettable dining experience!

Next stop… Odaiba! (Where Gundam is!!!)

// listening to Kelly Clarkson – Dark Side

3 thoughts on “Tokyo Trip – Tsukiji Fish Market

  1. I am glad I found this blog! My husband and I will be going to Tokyo next month and I am researching on specific restaurants to go to that have not been visited by almost all tourists! We will look for Marukita. My hubby also loves salmon and I have not eaten eel yet, so I will most likely try that! Thank you again and I will look forward to more of your posts about your trip! God bless you and your guy!

Leave a Reply

