Heneral Luna

I was pretty bummed that Inside Out isn’t showing anymore and that I’d have to wait several weeks for the next Bond film. Miko wanted to watch a movie so when he asked, “Mahilig ka ba sa History?” I was confused what he was referring to. Then I remembered I saw several posts on my Facebook Timeline about Heneral Luna. I haven’t seen a single negative review about the film so I said yes to watching it, and I’m happy I did! Palakpakan kaming audience pagkatapos ng movie eh! Akala ko sa mga John Lloyd movies lang nangyayari ‘yon! :p

heneral-luna-movie-poster

The only things I remember about the fiery general before watching the film: he’s a brother of the painter Juan Luna, that he almost had a duel with Rizal because of a girl, and that he’s a hothead. Kudos to the cast and crew of Heneral Luna for showing who Antonio Luna is as a historical figure and as a man. I haven’t enjoyed a Pinoy film in such a long time and it’s definitely my first time to enjoy a historical piece.

I loved how they were able to insert humor in a story that deals with serious topics like patriotism and treachery. Praises to the excellent actors– John Arcilla, Epi Quizon, Mon Confiado, and Nonie Buencamino cast as Antonio Luna, Apolinario Mabini, Emilio Aguinaldo, and Tomas Mascardo respectively.

I really hope we will have more intelligent films like this. because seriously, enough of mistress movies.

—–

Synopsis from the Heneral Luna official site

Set during the Philippine-American war, a short-tempered Filipino general faces an enemy more formidable than the American army: his own treacherous countrymen.

In 1898, General Antonio Luna ( John Arcilla ), commander of the revolutionary army, is spoiling for a fight. The Philippines, after three hundred years as a Spanish colony, has unwillingly come under American rule. General Luna wants to fight for freedom but members of the elite would rather strike a deal with the United States. The infighting is fierce in the new cabinet but General Luna and his loyal men forge ahead even as his military decisions are met with resistance from soldiers who are loyal only to President Aguinaldo ( Mon Confiado ). Ultimately, it is the general’s legendary temper and pride that bring him to his death when a pack of presidential guards assassinate him in broad daylight. While American newspapers are quick to point the blame to Aguinaldo, the mystery has never been completely solved and the General’s killers were never put to justice.

—–

Images used in this entry are from the film’s official site.

// listening to David Essex – Rock On

4 thoughts on “Heneral Luna

  1. my girlfriend and I went to see this last weekend as well. we also clapped after the movie. best Filipino film in a while. this deserves local and international awards.

  2. Pingback: Barasoain Church and Museum – Malolos, Bulacan | IYA-IYA-YO! | FOODIE AND TAKAW

Leave a Reply

