How to Apply for a Japan Tourist Visa in the Philippines

My dream vacation recently came true! Miko and I went to Tokyo and that wouldn’t have happened if it weren’t for this crucial step–

GETTING A JAPAN VISA! (DUHHH! HEHEHE)

image

It’s quite easy to secure one. The type of visa I got was a Tourist Visa without guarantor. Here are the steps on securing one-

PREPARE YOUR REQUIREMENTS

1. Passport
– Must have at least 6 months remaining validity and must have at least 2 blank pages. (Imagine I only got my very first passport last January in DFA Aseana, It only took me an hour to process it and it was delivered to me after a week.)

2. Fully filled out visa application form
– This can be handwritten or typewritten. Choose the latter if you want to make a good impression. I chose the former because I’m lazy. :p
– Forms are also available in the accredited agencies’ offices.

3. ID Photo
– 1 pc, pasted on the application form
– 4.5cm x 4.5 cm in white background, no border, no hair accessories, no jewelries (I smiled, but no teeth. :p)

4. Original NSO Birth Certificate
– You can request for a copy via NSO’s website and they will deliver it to your indicated address via courier in 3-5 days.
– Authenticated NSO birth certificate must be issued within the past year.

5. Marriage Contract (if married)
– Should also be NSO-authenticated..

6. Detailed Itinerary
– Fill out the form (Embassy’s template) according to your itinerary.
– Print 1 copy
– Here’s my sample itinerary:
tokyoitinerary2

7. Bank Certificate
– There’s no minimum amount specified by the embassy, you just need to prove that you have enough money to finance your trip in Japan. A friend of mine had P40,000 in his bank account when he applied. It was also his first out of the country trip. The amount will also probably depend on the length of your stay, 40k is enough for 4-5 days there. I think I paid P100.00 for a BPI bank cert.

8. Income Tax Return (ITR or Form 2316)
– Original and photocopy (They will only check the orig and get the latter.)

9. Additional Requirements (Optional)
– This part is optional because it’s not stated in the Japanese Embassy Website but you can always attach additional credentials such as Certificate of Employment (COE), flight documents, accommodation documents. I included my COE and Airline tickets.

GO TO YOUR TRAVEL AGENCY

I went to RELI in Dusit.
* Address: Mezannine Floor Dusit Thani Hotel,
Ayala Cmmercial Center Makati City,
Metro Manila Philippines
* Phone: 894-1210, 893-7259, 893-9226
* Fax:892-6257
* Email: Ticket / Package Tours- relitours@yahoo.com, Japan Visa- relitours_visa@yahoo.com
* Office Hours – Monday~Saturday 8:30~17:30, REGULAR HOLIDAY: Sunday & National Holiday- Operating Hours: Monday to Friday 8:30 am to 6:00 pm | Saturday 8:30 am to 12: 00 nn

SUBMIT YOUR REQUIREMENTS
I went on a Friday noon and it only took me 15 minutes for them to check my requirements, for me to pay for the processing fee (P950.00… I think it’s P1,200 in other agencies), and get my receipt/claim stub.

CLAIM YOUR VISA
I received a text from RELI 4 working days after I submitted my requirements. It was such a pleasant surprise, because they told me first that it will be ready after 5-7 working days. Don’t forget to bring your receipt when you claim your visa!

CELEBRATE!
This is optional of course, But I was ecstatic on getting my very first visa approved that I went straight to Café Shibuya (para fitting hehehe) in Glorietta to celebrate.

For more info, check out the website of The Embassy of Japan in the Philippines.

Sayonara!!! ^_^

// listening to Alanis Morissette – Wunderkind

11 thoughts on “How to Apply for a Japan Tourist Visa in the Philippines

  1. Hi Ms. Iya… We were on the same flight back to Manila. I was on the row opposite yours. Was planning on requesting for a pic with you but felt tired and groggy so I just felt contented seeing you in person na lang. Been a follower of yours from blogspot days.

    /mel

  2. Strict po ba sa Birth Certificate, must be issued within the past one year talaga? Kase ung friend ko meron old NSO Copy (2yrs. ago). Then ako, may new copy nga pero naiwala ko na ung recibo. Paano po ba nila malalaman na within a year naissue ung birth cert.? Wala nman po kse ako makita sa birth cert na ‘date issued’.

    – Thanks!

    • yes they are very strict with the NSO copy of BC. they really check the date when it was issued. the date can be seen on the lower left side which seems like a barcode, before the last 3digits.

Leave a Reply

