Cupcakes by Gremlins – Maginhawa St.

“Dadami ba ako ‘pag kumain ako dito?”

gremlins1

That was the question I asked myself when I saw this small cupcakery with an unusual name along Maginhawa.

gremlins2

80’s and 90’s kids won’t have a problem understanding the reference, but for the benefit of those who do not know what gremlins are, they are evil monsters that multiply upon getting wet and bite when fed after midnight. The cute, non-evil versions are called mogwais.

gremlins3

Anyhoo, I was hungry while waiting for Miko and his friends to finish band practice in a nearby studio, so I took the risk of multiplying. Hehe.

gremlins4

I was delighted to see mini cheesecakes in display! For 55php a piece!

gremlins5

There weren’t a lot of cupcakes to choose from when I went there on a Saturday night.

gremlins6

I just got me a Baileys Cheesecake and a glass of Cucumber Lemonade (80php).

gremlins8

And I got a Red Velvet Cupcake for my gitarista. :p Shempre may nakatusok na cheesy line in advance observance of Valentine’s Day. Hehehehe!

gremlins9

What a cheesecake that Baileys creation was! The liquor did not overpower the perfect sweetness of the smooth, thick, rich cheese layer. The crust was great too!

gremlins10

As for the lemonade, I liked the cucumber taste. It made it cooler to the taste, but the cucumber bits distracted me.

gremlins11

Miko loved the moist red velvet with luscious frosting that I gave him so much that we went back the following day to get more.

gremlins12

But boo! The red velvet cuppies were sold out!

gremlins13

We got the remaining goodies: Naked Cheesecake, Oreo Cheesecake, bailey’s Cheesecake, Blueberry Cheesecake, Baileys Cheesecake, and Hershey’s Cupcake.

gremlins14

Sabi naming kay ate ‘wag na kagandahan ýung pag-ribbon nung box kasi titirahin naman namin agad, but she didn’t listen. Haha. :P

gremlins15

We will see you again soon, Gremlins! We hope to try the rest of your cupcakes and cheesecake creations! :)

Cupcakes by Gremlins
54 Maginhawa Street,
UP Village, Diliman, Quezon City

// listening to the guitar cover of Daft Punk’s Get Lucky in the styles of 10 famous guitarists

3 thoughts on “Cupcakes by Gremlins – Maginhawa St.

Leave a Reply

