A Taste of LA Café – Quezon City (My 33rd Birthday Salubong)

All I wanted for my birthday salubong was a cake with a candle on it. Last December 19, I was in Trinoma waiting for Miko to pick me up after their Christmas party. I was considering Friday’s or Jack’s Loft to welcome my 33rd birthday. But Miko had other plans.

la1

He brought me to this old, rustic restaurant in Tomas Morato called A Taste of LA. I’ve heard about this resto from my QC friends, but I didn’t know what to expect, apart from good thin-crust pizza.

la2

Buti na lang hindi ako nagpaka-brat and insisted on having my salubong in Trinoma because I loved the ambience of the café. Roses and candles everywhere! It’s quite romantic. Their house wine (merlot, if I’m not mistaken) was the 2nd perfect (1st si Miko, shempre) thing to set the mood. Miko had a Jack-Coke (his fave), of course.

la3

We had the Classic Spaghetti Carbonara and Hot Pepper Shrimp Thin Crust Pizza. They used good smoky bacon in the carbonara, and the pizza was pretty damn good with its delicious and light thin crust and generous toppings of bellpeppers, olives, mushrooms, gooey cheese, and sweet and spicy shrimps.

la4

The other interesting dishes from the menu are the Pritchon Pugon, Wood-fire Baked Manila Clams, Crunchy Beijing Prawns, and Lazy Beef Fondue. They also serve puto bumbong and bibingka all year round.

la5

The only thing I didn’t like about my experience here was that they served my birthday cake at 12:02am. Nauna pa ako kantahan ni Miko at i-welcome sa Club 33 bago dumating ang cake. I don’t remember the name of the cake, but it’s a chocolate cake with chocolate ganache served with whipped cream and caramel. I also remember it being moist (except sa base) and rich and delectable.

la6

Our bill was around 2,000php, including the dishes above and maybe 4 drinks. Overall, A Taste of LA Café may be an oldie, but still a goodie– like me! Hehe! Happy that I turned 33 there. :)

la7

A Taste of LA Café
171 Roces Ave
Laging Handa, Quezon City
(02) 374-2461

// listening to – Layla Kaylif – Shakespeare In Love

2 thoughts on “A Taste of LA Café – Quezon City (My 33rd Birthday Salubong)

Leave a Reply

