Ikkoryu Fukuoka – Century City Mall

It was Wolfgang night at 12 Monkeys and we needed to fuel up before the rocking and the headbanging. (Hehe.)

Miko and I were both newbies in Century City Mall, so we just went in the first Japanese resto we saw, and I’m glad we did.

It was another ramen night for us FBFFs. I wasn’t sure if it will be better than the one we had at Urameshi-ya in Little Tokyo.

ikkoryu1

Ikkoryu Fukuoka Ramen Bar has been around since 1970 in japan and since last year in the Philippines. It specializes in Tonkotsu soup with Chikuho noodles.

Tonkotsu ramen is characterized thin, straight noodles in rich creamy pork broth. Chikuho is a region in Japan known for its special ramen.

Miko had the Ajitama Tonkotsu (380php) which is the Ikkoryu Original ramen + egg. It’s tonkotsu ramen garnished with chashu, green onions, bamboo shoots, wood ear and dried seaweed, and of course, the soft-boiled egg that was marinated in soy sauce.

ikkoryu2

I had the Black Garlic Tonkatsu (380php) which is the Ikkoryu Original ramen + special roast garlic oil. I love garlic, so I liked this a lot. Mikmik also liked his ramen, but I think he liked his Enma Ramen more. :p

I liked that we were asked our preferred texture of the noodles. I don’t remember the exact choices, but my bowl had firm, springy noodles, just the way I like it. And the chashu was terrific- juicy and tender.

Other recommended dishes are their gyoza and karaage. I was saving some tummy space for drinks/grub in 12 Monkeys so I decided against getting some.

ikkoryu3

But I couldn’t say no to ice cream. Their Matcha Ice Cream (150php) was a (not too) sweet treat to end the satisfying ramen dinner. I’d like to try black sesame flavor next time. :)

Ikkoryu has branches in SM Aura Premiere, Alabang Town Center, Bonifacio Highstreet, Powerplant Mall, and–

Century City Mall
Level 3, Kalayaan Avenue, Brgy. Poblacion, Makati
811-0333
Monday – Thursday 11am – 9pm, Friday & Saturday 10am – 10 pm, Sunday 10am – 9pm
Facebook: Ikkoryu PH
Twitter: @ikkoryuPH

// listening to Etta James – At Last

3 thoughts on “Ikkoryu Fukuoka – Century City Mall

Leave a Reply

