Kanto Freestyle Breakfast – Mandaluyong

It was a gloomy week made gloomier by Glenda, so despite the too early invite (for a Saturday) of my college buddy Karen to meet up, I said yes. With one condition, that we will eat breakfast in Mandaluyong.

knto1

It wasn’t hard to convince her, especially it was a bore for her to stay home in Alabang that time. No thanks to Meralco for the several days of power outage. Buti na lang may kuryente sa Mandaluyong! This humble looking eatery has big time meals that are inexpensive.

kanto10

I had the Kanto Boy Batangas Beef Tapa Breakfast (90php). Tender, savory pieces of beef served with scrambled eggs (you can opt for sunny side up), sinangag, and tomato with pesto. The tapa didn’t need vinegar, it’s delicious on its own.

kanto2

Karen’s Kanto Boy Breakfast of choice was the Crispy Pork Belly (90php). It was crispy indeed, and the meat-fat ratio won’t give anyone a cardiac arrest. I liked it better with the spiced vinegar + soy sauce than the lechon sauce that was served with it.

kanto3

The Hash Browns with Poached Eggs (90php) was enjoyable, but I would have wanted a less heavy hollandaise sauce. Less yellow too, maybe. :p I ate most of this, but had to give all the tomatoes with pesto to my hungry breakfast date who enjoyed it a lot.

kanto5

I usually like my champorado chilled and without dried fish, but Kantos’s Chocnut Champorado with Tuyo Flakes (70php) is something I would like to copy at home. The smell alone was delicious. The sweetness, just right. And the tuyo they used wasn’t too salty. It was thickened nicely not like the other champorados out there na mukha ng kalamay sa lapot.

kanto6

I could have sword I heard a voice in my head that said, “Carboloading? Push mo yan, ‘teh!” when the cute and fluffy Mixed Berry Berry Pancakes (90php) were brought to our table. At least I had some fruits that day- blueberries and strawberries. Well, I had mostly the latter because my breakfast date doesn’t eat strawberries.

kanto7

And the last pahabol to our very light breakfast turned brunch (ang tagal kasi ubusin nung food) was the Deep Fried Oreos (90php). I was really full when these arrived, but ang sarap so I managed to eat two. Three sana pero nahiya naman ako kay Karen. :p Downed all these food with iced coffee (30php, and 25php for hot) If I weren’t too full, I would have had a Scramble, too.

kanto8

Like its sister resto, Chef Arch’s Lime 88 (that’s just a street away), Kanto Freestyle Breakfast serves gourmet food with affordable prices. Other things I’d like to try from the Kanto menu are their Spanish Sardines Tempura, Pancakes with Goya Chocolate Ganache, and Deep Fried Cloud 9. You can check their complete menu here.

kanto9

Kanto Freestyle Breakfast is open 24/7 and has branches in Kapitolyo, Libis, and Marikina. Special thanks to the staff of Kanto Mandaluyong for being friendly and efficient, and for not judging us by the amount of food we consumed that morning. :)

Kanto Freestyle Breakfast
549 San Joaquin Street, Plainview, Mandaluyong
02 4002268
Facebook: kantofreestylebreakfast
Twitter: @kantobfast
Instagram: @kantobfast

// listening to Chet Faker – Terms and Conditions

8 thoughts on “Kanto Freestyle Breakfast – Mandaluyong

  1. Everything looks delicious! Good thing theyvhave a branch near me. Gonna go to their Libis branch tomorrow. I hope theyre open! Mouth watering post! Keep on blogging!

  2. Pingback: Dinner at Early Bird Breakfast Club | IYA-IYA-YO!

  3. Pingback: Kanto and Kid in Kapitolyo | IYA-IYA-YO!

Leave a Reply

