Christmas 2013

They say it doesn’t matter what’s beneath the Christmas tree but who’s around it. Well, we didn’t set up a tree this year, but you know what I mean. :p Spent the birthday of Jesus with His greatest gifts in my life– my parents.

image

The celebration isn’t the same as the previous years. There used to be a lot of carolers who’d sing off-key versions of Jingle Bells or Ang Pasko ay Sumapit (complete with wrong lyrics) but they weren’t around to entertain this year. I amused myself by painting while I wait for the Noche Buena.

image

Instead of an elaborate Noche Buena with the clan in my maternal grandmother’s house, we spent it at home with a modest spread of pancit bihon-canton, chocolates and suman, saba and sago, and crispy pata.

image

After Christmas morning mass, I waited for my godchildren to visit me for their aguinaldo. I’m surprised only a few of them arrived. I guess some of them are too big to still get an ampao.

image

Amidst all these changes, big and small, one thing remains the same. Christmas isn’t about us. Thanks Jesus for this special day! Without you, there wouldn’t be any celebration!

image

Another thing constant is, of course, getting in shape during Christmastime. Round is a shape. :p Merry Christmas!

// listening to Gary V – Pasko na Sinta Ko

Leave a Reply

