Very Easy Squash Soup

Cara’s right. It is super easy to make squash soup. I don’t know why I didn’t make it before, why I would wait to eat it at restos and pay a ridiculous amount for it. Well, okay….there really are places that make excellent squash or pumpkin soup but that’s another story! :p And fyi, pumpkin is a variety of squash. ;)

One chilly January night, I made a pot of this favorite soup. Here’s how–

image

1. Bring some chicken broth (or plain water) to a boil and drop chopped squash, minced onions and garlic. Season with a pinch of salt. Lower the heat, cover and simmer when the squash is soft and ready to mash.

2. Mash it. Mash it good. Put it in a food processor if you want it smooth. I was already very excited to eat it so I just just used a strainer.

3. Add cream or milk. I used Carnation evap. My mother said I should have used Alpine. Ang nanay ko talaga ay maka-Alpine. Hehe.

4. Put some dried herbs. My herbs of choice were oregano and thyme. I don’t know if fresh herbs will work nicely with this. What do you think?

image

I served it (to myself hahaha) with buttered soft pan de sal. What a quick and satisfying dinner!

If I weren’t in a hurry to eat dinner then, I would have roasted the squash first and tossed in chopped bacon. And had it with a grilled cheese sandwich.

// listening to Josh Holiday – Georgia on My Mind

7 thoughts on “Very Easy Squash Soup

  1. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thanks, However I am encountering troubles with
    your RSS. I don’t understand why I cannot join it. Is there anybody having similar RSS issues? Anyone that knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

Leave a Reply

