Sofitel’s Sunset Barbecue Buffet

Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila’s Sunset Bar offers sumptuous food and a ritzy yet non-imposing ambience. The outdoor resto is a nice choice for a romantic date or for a hearty meal with family and friends. This is also a great alternative for those who are already tired of eating, or have trouble making reservations at Spiral.

image
{Sofitel’s Sunset Bar is open daily from 9am to 11pm. Their Barbecue Buffet, priced at P2,078, is available Friday and Saturday nights.}

Sarit, Vincci, Ace, and I arrived a little before 6pm last Saturday. I almost had a mini heart attack because they put our reservation under Spiral. Good thing the courteous staff of Sunset Bar still accomodated us. Our table was a bit far from the buffet, but it’s alright because I really wanted to be seated near the pool and far from the stage. The Manila sunset surely is famous for something. It was a beautiful backdrop to a lovely evening.

image
{Thank you very much my fabulous friends for this super special post-Christmas/advance Valentine’s dinner! Pwero sana next time, pumunta naman tayo dito na may mga date tayo. Hehehe!}

The buffet’s selection is limited compared to Spiral, but it did not fail in satisfying us. All of us enjoyed the clam chowder, lechon, and seafood cooked in butter. They liked the lamb chops, and though I have to admit that it was grilled to perfection, I just have an aversion to the (Mediterranean?) seaoning used. Ace still insists that he only tasted salt and pepper. :p

image
{clam chowder / romaince lettuce and arugula with veggies and shaved parmesan and caesar dressing} / oysters and mussels cooked in butter and garlic with lots of cheese / crabs with lots of fat}

My other personal faves were the sea bass fillet, all the veggies in the salad bar + the caesar dressing, and the ratatouille.

I was a tad disappointed with the dessert buffet because the bibingka and puto bumbong weren’t that delish. The cream desserts also did not look so appetizing. The tropical fruits were fresh and the opera cake was great though.

image
{little lambchop (got the smallest coz I was full na) with mint sauce, sausages, salmon, prime beef / lechon de leche / surf and turf plate / mallows in chocolate, bibingka, opera cake, chocolate and vanilla ice cream}

Sarit had to leave early for the Condura Run the following morning. Good for him, na-burn niya agad ang calories!  :p The rest of us stayed to add more calories by taking advantage of  the unlimited beer (San Mig Light or Pale Pilsen) while talking about our favorite topic– work watching Philippine dances. Never had cariñosa, maglalatik, and tinikling entertain me so much until that night. Vincci’s right. We do have a lot of wonderful and creative dances!

image

My Sunset Bar experience is something I am looking forward to repeating. I can see maki rolls and cocktails in the near future!

// listening to Zedd – Clarity

7 thoughts on “Sofitel’s Sunset Barbecue Buffet

  1. I like the sunset bar better than spiral. I agree that sunset doesnt have a grand selection and i hope they will update their buffet menu soon and add some japanese foof.

  2. I have been surfing online more than 2 hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good content
    as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

  3. I simply want to say I am new to weblog and actually enjoyed your blog. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You certainly have perfect article content. Appreciate it for sharing your web page.

Leave a Reply

